Top Ten Most Annoying Book Characters

13 Jan

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is Top Ten 2014 releases I meant to read but didn’t get to

I wanted to do this one but after a talk I had with my sister, I thought I’d do a top ten of what our chat was about instead. So for this week, I’ll do a top ten of some of the most annoying characters.

You know those characters that make you want to shout at the book (or your phone), throw it across the room because of what they do, what they say. It makes you wonder if the author intended it that way. You roll your eyes so much and curse more than a freaking YMCM rap video.

You get so frustrated that at times bile starts to rise up and you almost shred your poor innocent book. (PS. I’ve never done such an evil act as shredding a book)

Now I know most of you won’t agree with my list lol. Just read on and tell me what you think.

So, here I go:

  1. Joffrey Baratheon – A song of Ice and Fire
  2. Now, I know that technically I haven’t read the books but that sadistic evil little douchebag annoyed me so much in the series, I just had to include him in my list. I freaking hated him.

  3. Anastasia Steele – Fifty Shades Trilogy
  4. Oh Ana, Ana, Ana. For those of you who read my Fifty Shades review before I removed it, you can agree that I had one nasty rant. It wasn’t pretty. Miss Steele was one main character I desperately wanted to love but ended up being frustrated with.

  5. Ellie – Angelfire Series
  6. So, she is supposed to be The chosen one. The wielder of these ancient blades. An Immortal tasked with saving us all from the reapers, right? And what does she do? She complains about her birthday party being ruined. Always thinks about shopping, boys and going to the movies. Totally disregards her duties and never seems to understand the severity of her actions. It was all Gucci this, Prada that with this ‘Heroine’. If we left our fate to Ellie I’m afraid we’d all be doomed.

  7. Bella Swan – The Twilight Series
  8. Two words…MARY SUE. Whether it’s the movies or the books, Bella was a character I just couldn’t relate to. EVER. Her thoughts, her actions, he beliefs…pretty much everything about her never sat well with me. As the main character, instead of inspiring me to be better or to make the right choices, she just came off as annoying and boring.

  9. Blake – The Lux Series
  10. Ah. The arrival of Blake in The Lux Series didn’t come as a surprise to me. I’d gotten used to love triangles and thought YA romance was synonymous with ‘YA love triangles”… Oh well, then he turned out to be nothing more than a two-timing, back stabbing, annoying jackass. What a jerk. And he was a creeper.

  11. Dolores Umbridge – Harry Potter series
  12. Is there really anything more I can say about this character?

  13. Legion – Lords of the Underworld
  14. Ugly demon turned Hottie, I hated her when she was scaly and I hated her after her transformation. Her obsession with beauty and Aeron annoyed me. Each time a scene with her in it comes up my nose crinkles and my forehead furrows. Okay, fine after her experience in hell, I pitied her but yeah, she still makes the list.

  15. Olivia – Cursed
  16. So, I know she’s just a kid and we should love these adorable little angels. No matter what. Yeah, I didn’t love her. I gave this book a high rating, now that I think about it I think it’s my JLA admiration. All the characters in Cursed pretty much annoyed me. I think I’ll re-review the book just to be fair

  17. Lexi – The Ivy
  18. Now for this one, I just put the first mean girl that popped in my head. I won’t talk about Lexi. I’ll talk about all other characters who are like Lexi.
    So, this goes out to all those popular girls in most highschool or college novels. She’s a slut, she’s rich, she’s captain of the cheer squad, she’s president of the drama club. You name it. I find all such characters annoying. Come on! Who doesn’t find bullies annoying?

  19. Harry Potter – Harry Potter series
  20. Hahaha. I bet you didn’t see this one coming did you? I love Harry Potter. I have since I was like 10, he’s awesome. What annoyed me about Harry were his detective skills. He was always suspecting the wrong people. Always jumping to the wrong conclusion.

So there’s my list, what are some of the most annoying characters you’ve encountered?

Follow me on twitter Dee@The perks

-Dee

3 Responses to “Top Ten Most Annoying Book Characters”

  1. stephaniesbookreviews January 13, 2015 at 11:13 pm #

    I did not care for the Cursed book, either, despite my love of JLA. It just wasn’t that good and it left too many things open to be a standalone.

    • Dee January 14, 2015 at 7:01 am #

      My exact thought. I’m all for standalone books but that one wasn’t concluded well enough. I think I reviewed it as a JLA fangirl and not a book reviewer. Glad you agree 🙂

  2. eisyasofia January 21, 2015 at 1:59 pm #

    Hi. I didn’t expect entry no. 10 hehehehe. I guess that’s why Harry needs Hermione – he has poor detective skills. Oh I have Bella Swan in my top ten tuesday but it’s a different topic ‘Book characters that would be sitting at my lunch table’. As an inspiring psychologist, I feel like giving Bella advices on adulthood & love

    https://ssreaderscorner.wordpress.com/2014/09/03/top-ten-book-characters-that-would-be-sitting-at-my-lunch-table/

Leave a Reply

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

kelzbelzphotography

My journey - The good, bad and the ugly

booksandopinions.com

The Book Reviews You Can Trust!

