REVIEW: Only By His Touch by Bree Kraemer

6 Jan

Title: Only By His Touch
Author: Bree Kraemer
Genre: Contemporary Romance.
Rating:

Recommend it: YES
Recommend it to Who: Anyone in need of a charming, witty and passion-filled romance novel.

You can get your Kindle version from Amazon.

Note: I got a free copy of this book from the author in exchange for my very honest review.

SYNOPSIS
Several years after a tragic event, Samantha still finds herself unable to get close to others. The slightest bump into someone makes her cringe and she avoids handshakes as much as possible. She can’t even touch her close friends and family. It seems she will never be able to overcome that terrible, life-changing day.

Until one day, she sees a man that may change everything for her. This man seems so familiar and without even thinking it through she has an undeniable urge to touch him. Where does she know him from?

Will this handsome stranger be able to help her to become the person she was before?

MY HONEST THOUGHTS

This is a first full novel written by Bree Kraemer. I was reading an unedited version so I’ll not point out errors and the like but instead I’ll talk about the controversy behind such a premise, the characters, the overall plot and how it all made me feel.

The author, Bree Kraemer brings us a very inspiring, funny and emotional story. It has wit, it has charm and the characters were very likeable and relatable. Just everyday people who experience things that anyone one of us could go through. I read it with a stupid grin on my face. Okay, fine, some parts made me sad and curse out loud.

I particularly loved it because of the main female lead, Samantha. After a very horrific and life-altering incident, she was willing to give living a shot. She didn’t let fear and ‘what-ifs’ dictate her life anymore. Sure, it took years for her to let anyone close but when she did, I truly felt inspired. Imagine a world where you avoid all human contact…you’re not a germaphobe but it’s still just as hard. Crowds make you nervous and elevators are a nightmare. How would you live?

As a female and being close to Samantha’s age, I felt really attached to her and felt her pain. The PTSD she had was believable and it touched me how her life was affected. But like most people who are hurting, she masked her pain with sarcasm, wit and jokes. I loved that because that’s how I usually live my life. It’s a better alternative to being moppy and wanting everyone to feel sorry for you…all the time.
I don’t know how long it takes someone to get over what happened to her so I can’t really comment on it much. But I can say the fact that she took a leap of faith and decided to not be afraid anymore really sat well with me.

Then, in walks Ethan. A man who signed up for the army straight out of high school. He has his own tragic story but like Samantha, he picked himself up and made something of his life. As someone who was in the army, Ethan came off as a ‘perfect’ gentleman. Notice how I write perfect? Yeah, well, that’s because perfection is so hard to achieve. He was caring, loving, funny and yep, attractive as heck. 

“Even blurry, he was handsome. Well, handsome really wasn’t the right word. He wasn’t hollywood handsome. He was real-life handsome.”– Only By His Touch

I laughed at this part. It made me happy. He came into her life and for the first time in a long time, Samantha felt alive again. He never rushed her to accept him or did anything to make her feel uncomfortable. He just wanted to spend time with her. It was nice to read.

“You can be gentle, rough or any other way there is, just as long as you’re with me.”– Ethan

I enjoyed how their story was written, the feelings were not forced and rushed. You could clearly see that it wasn’t love at first sight but a love that grew over a period of time and got stronger as they grew together. There conversations were natural and they both had great sense of humour. I love funny characters.

The other characters were likeable too. Well except one bitch who deserves a year behind bars or something. It was a welcome plot point that made the story even more real.

I’m a sucker for romance and when beautiful words are used I can’t help the feelings that start up in me. Come on, we love the notebook for a reason :). Every great relationship has bumps along the way and when you work through them, that’s when you become even stronger.
I loved the quote below a lot, I just had to share it. See if you can tell why…

“Say that you know that I want to try this too. Say that you’ll understand if we have to take it slow. Hell, say that you want me so much it might kill you, but please don’t say that you need to wait or walk away.”– Only By His Touch

There was enough drama and conflict but not too much that you cringe and think you’re watching a spanish telenovela. They say too much of anything is bad…well except books maybe and pineapples :D.

I’ve tagged the story as Erotic so I have to talk about the sex, right? Now again, I’m out of my element here -not talking about sex, I read Erotica, talking about sex has to be my element- but I mean just how sex would eventually happen for someone so traumatised. I don’t know anyone who’s ever gone through such and ordeal. So, I’ll talk about how it made me feel.

As with everything in the book, even these scenes where written so well. It didn’t come off as dirty or cheap. It didn’t make me want to wash my brain with soap and bleach. It was beautiful and it was hot. Okay, fine ‘hot’ is an understatement. It was panty-melting-lip-bitting-ice-cube-requiring sizzling hot. Ethan was one mean ‘cat-lover’ *wink *wink.
I should probably end there before I go full “Perve Mode”.

I will say this, however, even when she (the author) was hinting at sex, she made it all sound beautiful and made me happy.

“I’m asking you to make me forget. But more than that, I’m asking you to make me remember. Help me remember what it feels like to touch and be touched. Help remember why I should take chances. But most of all, help me remember that love always wins over fear.”– Only By His Touch.

Now I confess. At first I was a bit skeptical…I thought it was going to be another wounded-heroine-meets-hot-eye-candy-and-he-heals-her-with-his-magic-penis. You know the stories I’m talking about. You’ve probably read enough. You roll your eyes so much that you develop a headache. This however wasn’t like that…at all.
As a first novel, it was well executed.

That’s all for this review.

Follow me on twitter Dee@The perks

-Dee

Leave a Reply

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

kelzbelzphotography

My journey - The good, bad and the ugly

booksandopinions.com

The Book Reviews You Can Trust!

