Top Ten 2015 Bookish Resolutions

30 Dec

Hi. Howdy. Konnichiwa. Salaam. Ola. Shalom. Mulishani 😀 I hope you enjoyed the festivities…whatever it is you celebrate .

So, I know I missed last week’s top ten. I feel awful and bad about it. It couldn’t be helped really. Life got in the way (holidays) and by the time I got to typing, it was already freaking Wednesday. There was no way I was going to send a Top Ten Tuesday blog post on a freaking Wednesday like a Day-confused psycho…nope. The saying “Better late than never” didn’t apply here…at all. I can wear one of those cute panties that say ‘Tuesday’ on a Wednesday, well, cause who really is going to be judging me for that? It is called underwear and unless am an eccentric flasher or Miley Cyrus, none of you would know just what’s under my skinny jeans, would you? I’m rambling again, aren’t I?

Anyway, on to a bit more seriousness.

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is Top Ten Goals/ Resolutions for 2015. They have to be book and blog related of course. Sounds exciting and simple enough, right?

Now, before I begin, I must confess that I suck at keeping my resolutions. By the time it’s like the second week of January, I almost always revert to my old ways and feel like such a failure for not improving and achieving anything I set out to do. So, this time I’ll set goals that I can actually achieve. There will be no ‘become besties with J. K Rowling’ or ‘become a New York time’s bestselling author by February 14th’ on my list. What you’ll get are real goals that will help me grow as a reader, blogger and wannabe writer.
Here I go…

  1. Finish writing at least one book
  2. If you were to stumble upon my laptop, you’d find my documents folder full of unfinished writing projects. I don’t know what is wrong with me, but after all the typing and badass talking (yes I said it, badass) I do, I am yet to have a finished project I can proudly share and talk about. So, for 2015, hopeful I can check this one of my list. 365 days, seems manageable, right?

  3. Review every single book I read
  4. I read a lot of books but I don’t always post reviews for them. Either on my blog or on good reads. Mostly it has to do with not wanting to post a bad review of someone’s work. After my 50 shades of Grey rant, I swore never to have such a post again. I know that I can review bad books in a more mature way and so hence this goal.

  5. Read at least 4 classics
  6. There are a lot of people who claim that classic novels can be boring and so they avoid them, except during English class or Literature when they have no choice. You know, since it’s a ‘read or flunk’ situation. I have quite a number of the good old classics in ebook format but haven’t gotten around to reading them. I’d like to change that for 2015.

  7. Discover and endorse at least 10 deserving up and coming authors.
  8. I’m sure if you’ve been following my posts for a while now, you’ve kind of seen that I have gone on a personal crusade of helping out new authors. For 2015, I’d love to talk to you guys about some really great authors that deserve to be read.

  9. Catch up on some recommended book series
  10. My sister has recommended a lot of book series to me but I haven’t yet started any of them. The plots look great and I know when I review them, even you my followers will like them.

  11. Read more books by male authors
  12. This had been on my mind for a very long time now. I rarely read books by male authors and this is something I’d love to work on. If you have any good books that you can recommend to me, leave me a comment or link up with me on my goodreads account. If you’re a male author, do share your work with me. Think of it as ‘self-endorsing’:)

  13. Participate in new reading challenges hosted by fellow book bloggers
  14. This will be a great way for me to read a wider variety of new books. I’m in quite a number of groups on goodreads but I’d very much like to be involved in challenges that are on WordPress as well. It would also be a great way to interact with people I share an interest with. If you have reading challenges on your blog, just send me a link or something.

  15. Read 101 books
  16. Hahaha, so 101 is a random number, right? Why not 100 or 99? Well, that’s beside the point. I just want to read over 100 books next year. Think of all the different worlds and realms I’ll be transported to. I can’t wait. *excited*

  17. Do at least 10 Author interviews
  18. This one falls under the helping new writers have a bigger audience and what better way than to give them a chance to talk about their work and aspirations that an interview. I’ve been meaning to interview Candace Nicole Werts for a while now, but as usual life got in the way.

  19. Have a contest segment on my blog
  20. This will be a great way to interact with my followers and give something back. I love contests, especially writing ones, but really I just want to have any form of contest on my blog. I feel like having a really successful blog and have a ‘giveaway’ segment where followers can get free books (not mine of course lol). Amazon has enough books waiting to be bought and I’m thinking of being in a sharing mood come 2015.

So there you have it. If you want to be part of the list making lovers and have your own Top Ten Tuesday segment on your blog, check out the link I gave somewhere up there. Lists are awesome.

What are some of your 2015 bookish resolutions?

And hey happy holidays.
-Dee

12 Responses to “Top Ten 2015 Bookish Resolutions”

  1. Elen @ A World of Reviews December 30, 2014 at 1:19 pm #

    I need to read more classics to. 🙂 I read Pride and Prejudice in the summer and loved it, so I really want to read more Jane Austen. Good luck with your goals!

    • Dee December 30, 2014 at 1:35 pm #

      I’ve read Gone with the wind. I absolutely enjoyed it. I started Pride and Prejudice, I hope I finish it too. I feel like I’ve been missing out of some great works of literature by concentrating on just modern books.

      Thanks for dropping by, with these goals…I think I might need the luck 😀

  2. joyweesemoll December 30, 2014 at 5:10 pm #

    Great goals! I love the mix of writing / reading / blogging.

    If you have any self-care resolutions, I have a couple of challenges on my blog — a short one in January for New Year’s Resolutions (will also be reading the War of Art as a read along, which is a great book for writers!) and a year-long one for books to support healthy lifestyles (including emotionally, mentally, and spiritually, as well as physically). I linked to both of those challenges on my Top 10 post today.

    • Dee December 30, 2014 at 5:17 pm #

      I did promise to be involved in more blog challenges so, yeah. Count me in. My parents have been telling me to live healthier 🙂

      Thanks for dropping by.

  3. Danica Page@Taking it One Page at a Time December 30, 2014 at 5:12 pm #

    Some really great goals. I love classics, being an English major and all. Hmmm…maybe I’ll do a post on some friendly classics for people to read.

    Here’s mine

    • Dee December 30, 2014 at 5:20 pm #

      Oh please do that and don’t hesitate to share the post, just in case I miss it. It would be great to know which ones would be page turners. Might just read more than 4 😀

  4. Lianne @ caffeinatedlife.net December 31, 2014 at 4:16 pm #

    I hear you re: #1. I do have 1 writing project that’s almost done but it needs a good edit. And there’s several other projects at varying levels of first draft-completeness. Need to work on finishing them in the new year xD

    Yay for the classics! I love reading classic lit, there’s just so much to talk about with them!

    Wishing you all the best in completing your resolutions in 2015. Happy New Year! Thanks for dropping by my blog yesterday 🙂

    • Dee December 31, 2014 at 7:55 pm #

      I think you’re better off than me then, I’m no where near being done lol.
      Would love to read yours when you’re finished 🙂

      Thank you for the visit. Happy New Year.

  5. phoenixgrey85 January 4, 2015 at 7:25 pm #

    Good goals. I think 1-4 should be on my list too. I have several books that I’m writing that really need to be finished, and lots of books to read. I also want to read more of the classics. And I think by reviewing the books I read it helps me to understand what I liked and didn’t like about the book, which in turn helps with my own writing.

    And I like number 10 too. I think contests would be a great idea for your blog. 🙂

    Hope you enjoyed the festivities too.

    • Dee January 4, 2015 at 9:22 pm #

      Thanks 🙂

      I do hope I can pull them all off. The finishing a book one seems like the hardest at the moment.

      The contest one seems like it would be awesome if I achieve it. Yet to win a book gift card myself but I’d love to be able to make such happen for others. Might take some time though.

      Am about to start a new segment for practicing my writing, you should tell me what you think 🙂

      Thanks for dropping by.

      • phoenixgrey85 January 4, 2015 at 9:58 pm #

        I’ll keep an eye out for your new writing segment. I’m interested to see it. 🙂

      • Dee January 4, 2015 at 10:04 pm #

        Thank you…I’ve already posted it. Typos and everything lol

Leave a Reply

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

kelzbelzphotography

My journey - The good, bad and the ugly

booksandopinions.com

The Book Reviews You Can Trust!

