REVIEW: The Sham by Ellen Allen

26 Nov
The Sham

The Sham

When love leads to death, be careful who you trust…

SYNOPSIS

Eighteen-year-old Emily Heath would love to leave her dead-end town, known locally as “The Sham”, with her boyfriend, Jack, but he’s very, very sick; his body is failing and his brain is shutting down. He’s also in hiding, under suspicion of murder. Six months’ ago, strange signs were painted across town in a dialect no one has spoken for decades and one of Emily’s classmates washed up in the local floods. Who is the killer?

MY RATING 4 Stars

MY THOUGHTS
I received a free copy of this book from the author in exchange for my honest review 🙂

The Sham is an intriguing, exciting debut novel by Ellen Allen. A true page turner. It’s a psychological and contemporary Young Adult thriller that has just the right amount of mystery and drama to keep you reading…desperately wanting to figure out just who the bad guy is.

Ellen wrote this book with such detail, devotion and left nothing to the imagination, that from the first paragraph a reader is immediately drawn in. You will be swallowed up in this world, this town that has people as weird and as unconventional as the name of the town itself.

Fair warning though, you might find the first chapter to be…umm…what’s the right way to put this…umm “creepy and disturbing”…but this was a necessity because everything that followed was related to this.

Once you get past the first chapter (with your mind blown and your faith in humanity a bit shaken), then the goodness will just keep on coming. Piling up until, like me, you lose yourself in the story. From here on, the only thought in your mind will be…
WHAT…

THE…

EFF…

IS GOING ON??
But in a good way, believe me. I mean, come on, it is a thriller after all. You have to wonder.

50% in the novel, I found myself at the edge of my seat (well if I am being accurate, its more like bed). I didn’t know what was real and what wasn’t. This just intrigued me even more. The evidence was piling up, more bodies were being uncovered and Jack was still a mystery to me.

It just goes to show what an amazing writer Ellen Allen is.

I enjoyed her characterisation. The protagonists were likeable and had just the correct dose of believability. Their interaction and conversations came natural and I felt that they really started to understand each other.

Emily was real, funny, smart but still had her flaws (she was gross at times with her descriptions and thoughts…but hey who wouldn’t be when people you know keep dying around you). Jack was…different, but you just can’t help falling for him…even when you are suspecting him of cold blooded murder 😀
The pair are cute together, but not in that “I wanna hurl just reading this corny fest” way. They are a believable couple. Real and at times awkward. I kinda found it funny.

I did have some gripes with the naming of the other characters, like the 4 best friends. I found it distracting and I didn’t know who I was reading about whenever “Becky” and “Rebecca” were in the scene. In the beginning, I didn’t even know they were two people and as the story progressed, I kept thinking “which one is becky again? Is it the quiet one or the slutty one?” I constantly kept wanting to facepalm myself so hard that I give myself a concussion. Or maybe I’m just being a hard ass? But I always thought “becky” and “Rebecca” is the same name…what are the odds?

Now without, giving any spoilers, I would just like to say that the ending was EPIC.I did not see that coming…at all.
The writer executed it so perfectly and wonderfully, that the only word I can use to describe her is “genius”. I loved it so much.

You know those moments when you are reading a book and your jaw almost reaches the floor because the shock is just too much to measure? Yeah, that’s how I felt.

To end this review, I would recommend this book to anyone who is in the mood for a psychological thriller with just the right hint of romance and humour. I wouldn’t recommend it to younger teens who might find the descriptions of murder scenes and talks about sex disturbing.

All in all, it was a good read.

Till the next review.

-Dee

3 Responses to “REVIEW: The Sham by Ellen Allen”

  1. sodiamondwords November 26, 2014 at 4:20 pm #

    Fab review, the book sounds very intriguing. It sounds like she decided it would be dark and really went for it, I love that. I’ll put it on my TBR list!

    • Awkward Me November 26, 2014 at 5:57 pm #

      Oh my gosh! You have no idea…I have never seen bullying quiet like that. Wanted to jump right in and do something about it.

      You should tell me how you find the ending, my mind was blown.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. AUTHOR INTERVIEW: Ellen Allen Author of “The Sham” | The Perks Of Being A Book Lover - January 12, 2015

    […] Now we have to talk about your book, “The Sham”. To read my personal thoughts on The Sham, see my review. […]

Leave a Reply

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

kelzbelzphotography

My journey - The good, bad and the ugly

booksandopinions.com

The Book Reviews You Can Trust!

