How do you pick your books?

11 Aug

The saying goes “do not judge a book by its cover” and most of the times that is true, especially if:

  1. You already know the author and you love them.
  2. One of your closest friends recommended it to you.
  3. The book has made such a hype that your just HAVE to read it, regardless of how the cover looks like.

But what about those sometimes rare moments when you just need to read something new? A new series or standalone novel? How do you pick up that new book when all you have is a title, a blurb, a cover and the genre?

I won’t lie to you, some of my best reads were as a result of those “OMG, this cover is so cute…I have to read this book” moments. I remember the first time I came across a Gena Showalter novel, one look at that Lords of the Underworld book and I knew I just had to read it. Don’t judge me, that turned out to be one of my greatest book choices in my life. Now here I am after 10 books and I still count her as one of my Favourite Authors. (Even though she has lost her “spark” and gone all clean and umm well just different from the Gena I felt in love with).

Before this amazing world of ebooks and ereaders, I remember walking home from school with my friends and at times when we had saved up enough money we would buy some books in the streets. Back then my reading just involved Sweet Valley Twins, Mills and Boon, Silhouette romance and the like. With the Wakefield twins, I didn’t care which one was on sale, I just had to get it. With romance I always found Medical romance a bit boring so I avoided those. But at times when I was in want of a book and nothing was available, I pretty much read anything. Call it a disease or just an addiction. It is possible right? To be addicted to reading? I guess that would give an explanation as to why I found myself reading the cereal packet or the bread wrapper during breakfast. Weird I know, but reading is reading. 😀
Anyway my point is it was easy to choose the books I wanted to read back then…powerful main character , good captivating blurb and that catchy title. Teenage me had it good.
I would go home, do my homework if I had any and get swallowed up in my latest purchase…okay fine, so maybe most of the books I read back then were all borrowed from someone 😛

These days though, I think people put too much thought in picking up the next book they want to read…I mean with so many books available and being published everyday, one might wonder how our brains don’t explode with the overwhelming force of it all. So many good books, so little time. Which one should I read now? Do I pick this one? Do I pick that one? This looks good. Oh wait so does that one. God!!! AAAAHHHHH

Sorry about that, I am good now. *takes a deep breath* But you see what I mean, right?

With Goodreads and Blogs and everything, I just have to ask…what influences you to choose that particular book? How do you pick one over the others? What criteria do you use?

-Dee

2 Responses to “How do you pick your books?”

  1. Secret Lives of Fiction Lovers August 11, 2014 at 6:36 pm #

    I like to pop on Amazon and randomly pick one that they’ve recommended. I don’t even read the blurb a lot of the time, or just enough to know what genre it is and what kind of thing the book is about, like shifters or vampires or cancer, or love…etc. I like to be surprised.

    The reason I don’t pay much attention to blurbs: I remember when my friend raved to me about The Hunger Games. Initially the blurb put me off, it just wasn’t a story that jumped out at me begging to be read. I eventually got round to reading it and fell in love with it. The blurb really doesn’t do the book justice. If I hadn’t listened to my friend then I never would have read it and it never would have changed my life.

    • Awkward Me August 11, 2014 at 7:00 pm #

      I know what you mean about the blurb putting some people off. The first time I saw the goodreads synopsis of OBSIDIAN, I was like “eeww Aliens??” but my sister told me to just give it a go and I ended up enjoying it.

      Its good that you can pick up a book and want a surprise while you turn the pages, I am like that as well…at times. Though I gotta admit some surprises are so overwhelming I feel like putting my reader away but I have this whole “Always finish a book” policy going on so I get a bit picky with what I start these days.

Leave a Reply

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

kelzbelzphotography

My journey - The good, bad and the ugly

booksandopinions.com

The Book Reviews You Can Trust!

