Angelfire (Angelfire #1) by Courtney Allison Moulton

9 Aug

First there are nightmares.
Every night Ellie is haunted by terrifying dreams of monstrous creatures that are hunting her, killing her.

Then come the memories.
When Ellie meets Will, she feels on the verge of remembering something just beyond her grasp. His attention is intense and romantic, and Ellie feels like her soul has known him for centuries. On her seventeenth birthday, on a dark street at midnight, Will awakens Ellie’s power, and she knows that she can fight the creatures that stalk her in the grim darkness. Only Will holds the key to Ellie’s memories, whole lifetimes of them, and when she looks at him, she can no longer pretend anything was just a dream.

MY RATING: 3 Stars

MY THOUGHTS
For me Angelfire was not particularly a bad read. I just found myself failing to finish it at some points during my reading. Usually I am able to finish a book in two days or three days tops…but for this particular one I took longer than a week to go past half the book.

I have to give it points for having a powerful sword-wielding bad-ass girl as the main character. Ellie is strong and hardcore when she is not being a total teenager who is always thinking about partying and watching movies with her pals.

The book has enough action-packed scenes and with just the right amount of romance (okay not so much), mystery and at times terror.

The only thing I had a problem with was that I found Ellie to be a little too realistic a character, don’t get me wrong on this one. “Real” is good in some books but putting a real teenager in a book about an immortal warrior was just stretching it. She is responsible for saving people and is supposed to be the “vanquisher” of reapers but yet Will, the main guy, had to constantly remind her to not slack off so much. More often than not she preferred throwing parties and buying tight dresses than trying to perfect and improve her should be butt-kicking sword skills.
And I am not a very stylish person so I found the whole “designer label” and name dropping thing a bit unnecessary

    . At some points it was all “Chanel” this and “BMW” that. I wouldn’t have minded it all if I was reading another girly book like “It girl” or Gossip girl, but in this type of book it all felt out of place.

    All in all, if you are a lover of the Angels and Demons YA Genre, reincarnation, slice of life novels and Egyptian mythology then you should give this book a chance. Who knows you might just like it.

    -Dee

Leave a comment

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

booksandopinions.com

The Book Reviews You Can Trust!

EmilyBooks

where Emily and books collide